Image of Maribel - Reveries
Record Label

About this item

“Norwegian outfit Maribel could soundtrack the most hallucinogenic dream or hellish nightmare at the flick of a switch.” DrownedinSound.

For Fans of: Jesus and Mary Chain, The Raveonettes, My Bloody Valentine, Henry Mancini. Critically acclaimed Oslo four-piece Maribel have resurfaced with the release of second album ‘Reveries’ on Oslo-based label Splendour (of Montreal, Casiokids, Siinai).

Blending shoegaze and dream-pop with cinematic influences, Maribel create dark, distorted pop. The tracks are guided by the breathy siren call of their newly added East-German lead singer Rebekka Marstein. As female vocals intertwine with those of songwriter/ lead guitarist Pål Espen Kapelrud, one is likely to recall the oft-referenced My Bloody Valentine or The Raveonettes.

Pål Espen references less obvious influences beyond early 4AD records; “If you listen closely there’s a lot of jazz inspiration on this album. I’ve been listening a lot to the classics: Peggy Lee, Nat King Cole, Astrud Gilberto etc. It’s not like it sounds exactly like that, but I tried hard to create a similar kind of mood that those great singers did… Rebekka [Markstein] has kind of a jazzy touch to her voice and it fit perfectly to the mood I wanted to create. Aesthetically speaking it doesn’t hurt that she looks like a French movie star from the 60s. She completed the album in many ways.” On the back of their debut album “Aesthetics” (produced by Serena-Maneesh frontman Emil Nikolaisen) the band received high praise from the Norwegian press and earned critical plaudits from the likes of Drowned in Sound (UK), Soundvenue (DK) and GAFFA (DK) amongst others. It also saw Maribel implode, break-up and then reform with a new line-up including Pica Pica’s Rebekka Markstein on vocals and Bjarne Stensli (Harrys Gym) on percussion.


1. Falling Down The Stairs
2. Jezebel Jive
3. Meow!
4. You Bring The Sadness
5. Pretty Nights
6. Perfumed
7. Slumber Street
8. Devil's Sigh
9. The Thief

Back to top