Various Artists

Berghain 05 - Marcel Fengler

Image of Various Artists - Berghain 05 - Marcel Fengler
Record Label
Ostgut Ton

About this item

Berghain's Marcel Fengler presents the fifth installment in the club's expanding mix series. A central resident at the club since its early days, Fengler continually and consistently fires up the Berghain floor with his vast and exemplary collection of techno, house and electronica.

Fengler's colourful mix includes new exclusives from Peter Van Hoesen, Reagenz & Vril, and also gathers together a wealth of producers both new and old, from Claude Young, Luke Slater, Ben Sims and Regis, to Skudge, Gerd, Seiji and Convextion, a lot of them providing previously unreleased material. Opening with the eerie echoes of Emika's "Count Backwards", the mix moves into Peter Van Hoesen's incredible "Axis Mundi", which sets the tone from here on in: full, lively and not short on drama. Pushing into darker zones, Regis' typically haunting mix of Tommy Four Seven's "G", or Luke Slater's LB Dub Corp mix of Fengler's own "Thwack" segue with more classic cuts from Secret Cinema's "Timeless Altitude (Minneapolis Mix)" and Ratio's "Doublefeature".

Fengler keeps the surprise element alive while maintaining tension and pressure throughout. Gerd's tripping "Time and Space" mixes with Seiji's "More of You" in a glorious mid point throw-down. The mighty Claude Young teams up with production partner Takasi Nakajima on "Think Twice", which then swells to pick up the tension in a beautiful piano-led hypnotising movement. With the focus on more current developments in more edgy techno and house, combined with a hearty nod to the past, the mix continues with newcomers like Puresque showing promise, alongside a weighty new Ben Sims track, and the pounding filtered glory of Vril's "UV" - another exclusive for the mix. Marcel includes a new track that heads straight for the floor with "Sphinx", while men of the moment Skudge put forward "Man On Wire". The slow burning house of Reagenz' "The Labyrinth“ leads us into a psychedelic game of funk, dub and abstraction as the mix winds down. Before drawing to a close with Convextion aka ERP's stunning "Vapor Pressure", we're treated to a UK house classic by 20:20 Vision's "Future Remembrance (Livestyle Mix)", in all its analog glory. With Berghain 05, Marcel Fengler has proved filling floors doesn't have to be about ticking boxes.

This mix is a perfect example of the type of dexterity, sensitivity and scope he possesses as a DJ.


01. Emika - Count Backwards (Marcel Dettmann Vocal Edit)
02. Peter Van Hoesen - Axis Mundi
03. Terrence Dixon - Tranquility (Octagen Remix)
04. Byetone - Plastic Star (Dr. Walker Remix)
05. Tommy Four Seven - G (Regis Remix)
06. Marcel Fengler - Thwack (L.B. Dub Corp Remix)
07. Secret Cinema - Timeless Altitude (Minneapolis Mix)
08. Ratio - Double Feature
09. Gerd - Time And Space (Duplex Southside Mix)
10. Seiji - More Of You
11. Claude Young & Takasi Nakajima - Think Twice
12. Puresque - 001A
13. Ben Sims - Slow Motion
14. Vril - UV
15. Marcel Fengler - Sphinx
16. Skudge - Man On Wire
17. Reagenz - The Labyrinth
18. 20:20 Vision - Future Remembrance (20:20 Livestyle Mix)
19. Convextion AKA ERP - Vapor Pressure

Back to top