Richmond Fontaine

The High Country

Image of Richmond Fontaine - The High Country
Record Label

About this item

An operatically tragic tale is told in Richmond Fontaine's tenth studio album, The High Country. More than a concept piece, the Portland, Oregon four-piece have crafted a song-novel, in which a gripping tale is spun with fully fleshed-out characters, changing scenes, snippets of radio and spoken word passages. It's a spectacularly unique album housed in a digi-pack with full 8 page colour booklet.

Richmond Fontaine's frontman, Willy Vlautin, is a published novelist whose 2006 debut, The Motel Life, has just been turned into a major motion picture directed by the Polsky Brothers and starring Dakota Fanning, Stephen Dorff and Kris Kristofferson.

With Richmond Fontaine's latest album, he's combined that story-telling prowess with his songwriting gift to stunning effect. From stark, romantic ballads and dialogue sequences to raw Northwest garage rock and cinematic songscapes, this album sees Fontaine's musical trajectory soar far beyond their cowpunk roots, ably assisted by producer John Askew.


Darryl says: More top quality Americana from Richmond Fontaine, with their tenth album. It's a bleak but absorbing tale that's spread across its 17 tracks, a 'tragic tale opera' if you like.


01. Inventory
02. The Girl On The Logging Road
03. The Chainsaw Sea
04. Let Me Dream Of The High Country
05. The Mechanic Falls In Love With The Girl
06. The Mechanic's Life
07. Angus King Tries To Leave The House
08. The Meeting On The Logging Road
09. Claude Murray's Breakdown
10. The Eagles Lodge
11. Driving Back To The Chainsaw Sea
12. Lost In The Trees
13. On A Spree
14. I Can See A Room
15. Deciding To Run
16. The Escape
17. Leaving

Back to top