The Smiths

The Sound Of The Smiths - Deluxe Edition

Image of The Smiths - The Sound Of The Smiths - Deluxe Edition
Record Label

About this item

The Smiths were the definitive British independent band of the eighties, releasing a remarkable series of singles and albums between 1983 and 1987 that were both commercially and critically successful and which laid down a marker for guitar pop-rock that remains unsurpassed. Disc 1 of "The Sound Of The Smiths" comprises 23 tracks and presents all the Smiths' single releases, reinstating singles that were scheduled though eventually unreleased ("Still Ill" and "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby") plus European only singles such as "Barbarism Begins At Home" and "The Headmaster Ritual". The core of disc one, however, is that matchless run of singles from their first Rough Trade 7" single "Hand In Glove" through to "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me". The second disc features a further 22 tracks including rare B-sides, tracks that were exclusive to 12" releases and selected live recordings. Among the rarities are the Troy Tate produced "Pretty Girls Make Graves" and "What's The World", a cover of a track from the fellow Manchester band James, recorded live at Barrowlands, Glasgow.

1 Hand In Glove
2 This Charming Man
3 What Difference Does It Make? (BBC Peel Session Version)
4 Still Ill
5 Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
6 William It Was Really Nothing
7 How Soon Is Now?
8 Nowhere Fast
9 Shakespeare's Sister
10 Barbarism Begins At Home (7" Version)
11 That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
12 The Headmaster Ritual
13 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
14 Bigmouth Strikes Again
15 There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
16 Panic
17 Ask
18 You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby (World Won't Listen Version)
19 Shoplifters Of The World Unite
20 Sheila Take A Bow
21 Girlfriend in A Coma
22 I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
23 Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me

1 Jeane
2 Handsome Devil (Live at Manchester Hacienda 04/02/83)
3 This Charming Man (New York Vocal),
4 Wonderful Woman
5 Back To The Old House
6 These Things Take Time
7 Girl Afraid,
8 Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
9 Stretch Out And Wait
10 Oscillate Wildly (Instrumental)
11 Meat Is Murder (Live at Oxford Apollo 18/03/85)
12 Asleep
13 Money Changes Everything
14 The Queen Is Dead,
15 Vicar In A Tutu
16 Cemetery Gates
17 Half A Person
18 Sweet And Tender Hooligan
19 Pretty Girls Make Graves (Troy Tate Version)
20 Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
21 What's The World? (Live at Barrowlands Glasgow 25/09/85)
22 London (Live at National Ballroom Kilburn London 23/10/86)


Back to top