Explosions In The Sky

All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone

Image of Explosions In The Sky - All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone
Record Label
Bella Union / Temporary Residence Co.

About this item

Recorded by John Congleton at Pachyderm Studios in rural Minnesota, this album is a massive leap forward, showcasing a broader instrumental range and their most focused, efficient songwriting. It's also within arm's length of matching the overwhelming glory of their legendary live shows, trading in the crystalline production of "The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place" for a paint-peeling intensity that blurs the lines between studio and live performance.


Barry says: Eschewing the trademark sound that they established to some degree on their last album proper, Explosions In The Sky have instead opted for a more hard-edged sound, saturated and overdriven to a place that was only hinted at on previous outings. There are still build-ups, mellow sections, floating bass and shining beauty, but this time there is a more pronounced disparity between light and dark, perhaps further enhancing the golden beams within. A wonderful edition to their established canon, and with hindsight, a formative release in their great future.


1. "The Birth And Death Of The Day" 
2. "Welcome, Ghosts" 
3. "It's Natural To Be Afraid" 
4. "What Do You Go Home To?" 
5. "Catastrophe And The Cure" 
6. "So Long, Lonesome"

Back to top