Search Results for:


The consistently on-point Heist hit us with another doozy of tech house brilliance via the mighty Dutch duo - Fouk.

"Mirage" is built around a stuttering synth loop and a seductive female vocal chanting ‘What made you wanna…” The real star here is the bassline, which propels the track into a seriously infectious groove. Add some Detroitian strings (very UR / Galaxy 2 Galaxy") and moody changeovers and you’ve got yourself a full-blown dancefloor weapon.

"Coffee" has that familiar bounce we've come to love from the pair. Rising strings and keyboard stabs also bring forth that Detroit flavour but without being too pastiche; whilst the skillfully executed breakdowns, coupled with a hooky arrangement give the track more of an exuberance, terrace-leaning sound.

"Tapioca" unpacks some serious electric funk into proceedings, and with its shuffled drum beat, I'm again reminded of Galaxy 2 Galaxy - it's clear that Fouk are fans of the Detroit supergroup!

Milan techno princess Eliza Bee ups the tempo and intensity of "Mirage" - adding slamming 909s and a very techno mindset before "Abalone" closes off proceedings with a very wavy, psychedelic house jaunt that's great for the warm up or the wind down. Top stuff! 


Matt says: Heist continues to be my one-stop shop when looking for that killer new house track for the weekend. Tasteful A&R, nice pressings, strong themes - they've nailed it!


A1 Mirage
A2 Coffee
B1 Tapioca
B2 Mirage (Elisa Bee Remix)
B3 Abalone

House music legend DJ Sneak drops a 12" on Heist. A veteran of many years in the house game (becoming famous around the mid-90s due to a few pioneering releases on Cajual and Henry St. Music), DJ Sneak seems to have been a constant through the development of the genre. 

The aptly titled “Back To Love” the EP starts off with one of Sneak’s most intimate productions to date: “Love Can Make It Happen”. Built around an ever-evolving vocal loop and dreamy strings, this track is deeper than deep with the percussion matching that meditative energy, with the grunt only Sneak can bring.

“Going Back To It” had Chi-town flavour at its core. Moody chords, some vocal chops, a badass bass line and solid percussion is often all you need, perfectly demonstrated here. With "Full Cycle" on the flip, we see Sneak revisit those relentless concentric grooves that became his trademark. Reminding us a little of Carl Craig's Paperclip People project, where the bluntness of a live recorded on/off arrangement really adds something special to a track.

The EP ends with “Pockets”, a house jam with classic 90s vocals and energetic snare drums to add that classic New York touch to proceedings.

Effortlessly mixing both the house legacy of yesteryear with modern, fresh sounds yet miraculously sounding incredibly natural and unforced in the process, Sneak has unleashed an EP that long term fans are gonna eat up, whilst more than satiating today's modern house kids. Expert stuff from the master! 


Matt says: Sneak's been busy of late, this one of three different releases, on different labels, in quick succession. A true veteran of house music, he's lost none of his individuality and charisma over the years; as this release for Heist clearly demonstrates.


A1. Love Can Make It Happen
A2. Going Back To It
B1. Full Cycle
B2. Pockets

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top