Julian Cope

Fried - 2024 Reissue

Image of Julian Cope - Fried - 2024 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

Julian Cope's second album of 1984 - Never re-pressed in its original format, this re-issue faithfully replicates the original Mercury Records UK release with poster, and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

'Fried' is one of Julian Cope's boldest. It made many think that after a while teetering on the edge, Julian Cope had finally tipped over into an artistic madness, amplified by his wearing a turtle shell and staring at a toy van on a landscaped spoil tip in Warwickshire on the album's sleeve. Opening track 'Reynard The Fox' added to it all, a six-minute psychedelic garage rock tour-de-force, breaking down to a Cope monologue where he gravely intones English folk tales from his vantage point, referring also to an onstage stomach-slashing incident from 1983. 'Sunspots', the sole single taken from the album, is one of his greatest recordings in a career that spans over 40 years.

'Fried' is up there with some of the very best works of the singular British eccentric.


1. Reynard The Fox
2. Bill Drummond Said
3. Laughing Boy
4. Me Singing
5. Sunspots
6. The Bloody Assizes
7. Search Party
8. O King Of Chaos
9. Holy Love
10. Torpedo

Back to top