Tangerine Dream - 2024 Reissue

Image of Kaleidoscope - Tangerine Dream - 2024 Reissue
Record Label
Kaleidoscope Sounds

About this item

Look through any self respecting quality music publication or web site and peruse through a list of the most important and influential psychedelic albums of all time and you can be pretty sure to see KALEIDOSCOPE’S ‘Tangerine Dream” ranked high up there, along with your ‘Sgt Peppers’, your ‘Forever Changes’ ‘Satanic Majesties Request’ ‘Axis Bold As Love’ ‘Odyssey & Oracle’ and ‘The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators’……..

This seminal album of quintessential English psychedelia is one of the most highly prized artifacts that define the psychedelic genre and like some of the most highly collected and prized albums from that time, mint copies can now go for way in excess of £1000.

Thus given the record`s rarity & collectability, matched to the recent explosive interest in all things psyche, garage & underground, you would be excused for thinking that this slice of perfect late 60’s progressive underground pop would have been given the full reissue and remastering treatment already. Surprisingly though, you would very much be mistaken. But to those of you who know the checkered history of Kaleidoscope this will perhaps come as no surprise!?!!

Thankfully after 3 years of painstaking detective work, chance encounters with Universal archivists, heavy negotiations with major label legal executives and some good fortune, we are delighted to announce that this record will finally not only get its first proper official reissue in over 5 decades, but thanks to a lot of pure persistence it can now be presented to its listeners in the manner in which it was supposed to have been heard, following the discovery of a batch of the original master tapes that were languishing in the vaults of Universal that have laid largely unheard for 50 years!

Furthermore following a couple of shared festival billings at Austin and Copenhagen Psyche Festival, with another legend of the scene, Mr Pete Kember aka SONIC BOOM of SPACEMEN 3 fame, Sonic has been holed up in his Lisbon studio, painstakingly remastering the album from the original ¼” tapes.

The remastering of these ¼” tapes though is only part of the story, as along with the discovery of these a significant number of ½” tapes and other material was also discovered which is penned for a future release when the band`s entire works will be presented in a definitive boxset of all four of their studio albums (including all their Fairfield Parlour recordings) plus BBC Sessions, live recordings, alternative takes, new mixes, unreleased tracks and material from the band`s own archive including pre-Kaleidoscope demos when they were known as both The Sidekicks and The Key.


1. Kaleidoscope
2. Please Excuse My Face
3. Dive Into Yesterday
4. Mr. Small, The Watch Repairer Man
5. Flight From Ashiya
6. The Murder Of Lewis Tollani
7. (Further Reflections) In The Room Of Percussion
8. Dear Nellie Goodrich
9. Holidaymaker
10. A Lesson Perhaps
11. The Sky Children

Bonus 7"
1. Kaleidoscope (earliest Known Recorded Version)
2. Dream For Julie (earliest Known Recorded Version)

Back to top