Marie Queenie Lyons

Soul Fever - 2024 Reissue

Image of Marie Queenie Lyons - Soul Fever - 2024 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

A real soul gem from 1970 on the James Brown affiliated Deluxe label, the first and only album by this mysterious singer: Marie Queenie Lyons.

The songs are a combination of funky covers, some of which she’d been doing in her live shows, like ‘Fever’ and ‘Try Me,’ and originals co-written by pianist Don Pullen, who was the bandleader on the session.

Our reissue features an alternative cover photo and includes a booklet with rare photos, extensive liner notes by Andrew “Monk-One” Mason and the first ever interview with Queenie herself!


1. See And Don’t See 01:00
2. Daddy’s House 01:00
3. You Used Me 01:00
4. Your Thing Ain’t No Good Without My Thing 00:59
5. Snake In The Grass 00:59
6. Your Key Don’t Fit It Anymore 00:58
7. Fever 01:00
8. I Don’t Want Nobody To Have It But You 00:58
9. We’ll Cry Together 01:02
10. I’ll Drown In My Dreams 00:59
11. I Want My Freedom 00:59
12. Try Me 00:59

Back to top