Real Estate


Image of Real Estate - Daniel

About this item

Real Estate’s sixth full-length album Daniel was recorded in an ebullient nine-day spree at RCA Studio A, in Nashville with GRAMMY-winning producer and songwriter Daniel Tashian (Kacey Musgraves). In 11 compulsively tuneful songs, they connect the uninhibited wonder of their earliest work with the earned perspective of adulthood.

Several days into recording, all five members of Real Estate were discussing album titles when someone suggested “Daniel,” simply because it seemed funny to bestow a human name upon a record. Was it for Daniel Tashian? Maybe. Was it a nod to The Replacements’ Tim? Possibly. Was it the sign of a band that has now been around long enough to take its music seriously without taking itself or its perception too seriously? Absolutely.


Barry says: Real Estate may have reached a point in their career where they're unworried about calling a record 'Daniel', and in a way the duality of the silliness of the name is the perfect metaphor for Real Estate's playful but deeply skilful song writing. Here we get the upbeat majesty and jangly drift we've known them for but with a more mature, less frenetic end result.


1. Somebody New
2. Haunted World
3. Water Underground
4. Flowers
5. Interior
6. Freeze Brain
7. Say No More
8. Airdrop
9. Victoria
10. Market Street
11. You Are Here 

Back to top