The Bevis Frond

Focus On Nature

Image of The Bevis Frond - Focus On Nature
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

Focus On Nature is the new studio album from celebrated post-psyche singer songwriter Nick Saloman and his band The Bevis Frond. Seventy-five minutes of glorious melodies that span 60s psych, English folk, Seattle art-punks The Wipers, the buzzsaw pop of Dinosaur Jr and Hendrix-esque explorations. There’s always an element of playful Englishness to their music.

Heavily influencing the likes of The Lemonheads, Teenage Fanclub, Elliot Smith, Pavement and Dinosaur Jr, the cult icons have produced another off-kilter mix of melodic piano-led melancholy, acoustic ruminations, scratchy garage rock with a punky edge and full-on guitar histrionics.

Like its much-praised predecessor, ‘Little Eden’, the new record studies the world’s weariness but fills out a bigger canvas; fast food and global warming, broken hearts and long gone nights out, everyday immortality and being God’s gift all share space. It’s like Townshend at his most thematic; Big Star in all their acoustic glory, perfectly balancing the punky garage rock combo who end up running on ‘Empty’ with Gilmour breaks that elevate it all to grandeur.

“Still mixing pop, punk and psych to giddy effect.” The Guardian

“Self-reflection is twinned with a rueful survey of the current state of the nation.” Uncut


1. Heat
2. Focus On Nature
3. God's Gift
4. Vitruvian Man
5. A Mirror
6. Leb Off
7. Here For The Other One
8. Happy Wings
9. Empty
10. Wrong Way Round
11. Mr Freds Disco
12. Jack Immortal
13. Hairstreaks
14. Maybe We Got It Wrong
15. Brocadine
16. Big Black Sky
17. The Hug
18. I Can't Breathe
19. Hung On A Wire

Back to top