Ella Fitzgerald

Ella Sings Ellington

Image of Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Sings Ellington
Record Label
Supper Club

About this item

Duke Ellington and Ella Fitzgerald's paths had surely crossed many times during the Thirties, Forties, and early Fifties. However, no recorded trace of the two legendary musicians collaborating exists until 1957, when Norman Granz produced a series of big band and small group sessions. This album presents Ella singing Ellington tunes backed by a small group featuring tenor saxophonist Ben Webster and legendary violinist Stuff Smith, plus Ella's regular accompanist Paul Smith and the great Oscar Peterson sharing the piano, and Barney Kessel and Herb Ellis taking turns on guitar. "Webster and Smith solo in their highly singular manner with Ben's take- off on 'Rocks' the climax of the song. Stuff is angular, probing and strong in his solo on 'I Let a Song'. The slow- walking 'Squeeze Me' is individualized by a unison blend among Ella, Stuff and Ben. These are history-making sessions. An absolute must in any library." - ***** John A. Tynan, DownBeat


1. Don't Get Around Much Anymore 
2. Prelude To A Kiss 
3. In A Sentimental Mood 
4. Sophisticated Lady 
5. Just A-Sittin' And A-Rockin' 
6. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart 
7. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me 
8. Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me) 
9. Azure 
10. Rocks In My Bed 
11. Lush Life 
12. Mood Indigo

Back to top