Charlotte Gainsbourg

5:55 - 2023 Reissue

Image of Charlotte Gainsbourg - 5:55 - 2023 Reissue
Record Label
Because Music

About this item

Air's Jean-Benoit Dunckel and Nicolas Godin (who paid tribute to Serge Gainsbourg particularly well on 10,000 Hz Legend's 'Wonder Milky Bitch') wrote 5:55's delicate music, while Jarvis Cocker and the Divine Comedy's Neil Hannon penned its lyrics. Produced by Nigel Godrich.

‘It's a genuinely delightful album’ - 4/5 The Guardian.

Originally released in 2006,..even though 5:55 isn't technically Charlotte Gainsbourg's first solo album (that would be Charlo[e for Ever, which was release in 1986, when she was 15), it’s her first solo album as an adult and, with the help of a dream team of collaborators , it's a fittingly sophisticated set that touches on her father Serge's brilliantly louche, literate pop without being overshadowed by it.

This mingling of French and English influences is mirrored in Charlotte Gainsbourg's subtly expressive voice and accent, which provides the perfect complement to the album's lush sounds and vivid imagery.


A1. 5:55
A2. AF607105
B1. The Operation
B2. Tel Que Tu Es
B3. The Songs That We Sing
C1. Beauty Mark
C2. Little Monsters
C3. Jamais
D1. Night-Time Intermission
D2. Everything I Cannot See

You may also like

Back to top