Sigur Ros

Kveikur (10th Anniversary Reissue)

Image of Sigur Ros - Kveikur (10th Anniversary Reissue)
Record Label

About this item

Kveikur is the seventh album by Sigur Rós, originally released on XL Recordings in June 2013. Completely out of print worldwide, the album will now be re-released on the band’s own label, Krunk. Described by the band as “more aggressive” than any of their previous work, Kveikur – which means ‘fuse’ or ‘candle wick’ in the band’s native Icelandic – is heavier, both thematically and sonically. All of the lyrics are sung in Icelandic rather than the wordless “Vonlenska” (Hopelandic) as on ( ), providing a more grounded experience.

NME - 4/5 - “Sigur Rós are at their blackest and most sinister, sounding not so much reborn as in the ferocious throes of an almighty exorcism.”

Back to top