Creation Rebel

Hostile Environment

Image of Creation Rebel - Hostile Environment
Record Label
On-U Sound

About this item

The first album in 40 years from this legendary dub act, who were the original On-U house band and responsible for classics such as Dub from Creation and Starship Africa. The trio of Crucial Tony, Eskimo Fox and Magoo are back with producer Adrian Sherwood to create a modern spin on their heavyweight dubwise rhythms.

“Creation Rebel have created a great legacy. Their records inspired a legion of dubheads and they were foundational in the formation of the On-U Sound and Ruff Cut labels, not to mention bands such as Roots Radics, African Head Charge, Dub Syndicate, Singers and Players and many more. On this album it all comes full circle with Hostile Environment, featuring three of the original Rebels and with some wonderful guests.

‘Hostile Environment’ is the term that UK Prime Minister Theresa May used to describe creating a hostile environment for people seeking refuge and asylum, one of the backdrops to the shocking Windrush scandal that has affected so many Caribbean families who have lived and worked in the UK for their whole lives.” Adrian Sherwood.


Barry says: It's been FORTY years, and Creation Rebel are still forging a rich union of soundsystem bass, dubby rhythms and politically pointed lyrics. A superb return for one of the greatest forces in reggae history.


A1 Swiftly (The Right One)
A2 Stonebridge Warrior
A3 Under Pressure
A4 That’s More Like It
A5 Jubilee Clock
A6 This Thinking Feeling
A7 Whatever It Takes
A8 Salutation Gardens
A9 Crown Hill Road
A10 The Peoples’ Sound (Tribute To Daddy Veigo)

01. Swiftly (The Right One)
02. Stonebridge Warrior
03. Under Pressure
04. That’s More Like It
05. Jubilee Clock
06. This Thinking Feeling
07. Whatever It Takes
08. Salutation Gardens
09. Crown Hill Road
10. The Peoples’ Sound (Tribute To Daddy Vego)
11. Off The Spectrum

Back to top