Girl Ray


Image of Girl Ray - Prestige

About this item

Girl Ray, the three-piece comprising Poppy Hankin, Iris McConnell and Sophie Moss, release their much anticipated third album, Prestige, on 4th August 2023 via Moshi Moshi.

Co-produced by Grammy Award-winning producer, Ben H. Allen (M.I.A, Gnarls Barkley, Christina Aguilera, Deerhunter) along with the band’s singer and songwriter Poppy Hankin, Prestige takes the shambolic charm of their debut, Earl Grey (2017), and the indiefied R&B of 2019’s Girl, and injects it with a booster shot of Hi-NRG eighties disco pop.


Barry says: I knew right away that 'Up' was Girl Ray, with their instrumental stylings and distinctive vocals shining through the decidedly different overarching audio narrative, which is DISCO! Bright Chic-esque guitar stabs and echoic Linn drums, atop atheltic basslines and excitable skittering hi-hats. Classic Girl Ray, perfectly infused with a neon streak.


01. Intro
02. True Love
03. Up
04. Everybody’s Saying That
05. Love Is Enough
06. Hold Tight
07. Begging You Now
08. Easy
09. Tell Me
10. Wanna Dance
11. Space Song
12. Give Me Your Love

Back to top