Art School Girlfriend

Soft Landing

Image of Art School Girlfriend - Soft LandingImage of Art School Girlfriend - Soft Landing
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

Art School Girlfriend, Aka Polly Mackey releases her second album Soft Landing, via Fiction Records. The album is self-described as a series of “small euphorias”, it is an album that finds Mackey shifting her sound towards tactile electronics whilst retaining the floating melodies of her debut.

With the announcement, Mackey has released one of her strongest tracks to date, titled “Close To The Clouds”, which follows the success of standalone single “A Place To Lie” earlier this year. “Close To The Clouds” is an integral part of Soft Landing, with the central refrain providing the album with its title, and the song unfurling into climbing, arpeggiated synths amidst acid-house indebted drums.

Soft Landing follows Mackey’s 2020 debut album, Is It Light Where You Are? an album made in the wake of a tumultuous time and released during one. Soft Landing feels like Mackey’s true debut, a record of curiosity and playfulness with songs that sound like they are falling effortlessly into place.


Barry says: A hypnotic trip through percussion-heavy minimal wave, airy IDM and shoegazing dancefloor electronics, 'Soft Landing' is a wonderfully evocative and beautifully rendered whole, and a huge leap for Mackey from her already stellar debut.


1. A Place To Lie
2. Close To The Clouds
3. Real Life
4. Waves
5. Blue Sky Feat. Tony Njoku
6. The Weeks
7. Laugh My Head Off
8. Out There
9. Heaven Hanging Low
10. How Do You Do It
11. Too Bright

Back to top