O Monolith

Image of Squid - O Monolith

About this item

Teeming with melodic epiphanies and layered sounds, Squid’s second album O Monolith is a musical evocation of environment, domesticity and self-made folklore. Like its predecessor, 2021’s critically acclaimed, UK number 4 album Bright Green Field, it is dense and tricksy – but also more warm and characterful, with a meandering, questioning nature.

Expansive, evocative and hugely varied, O Monolith retains Squid’s restless, enigmatic spirit, but it still holds surprises for those familiar with Bright Green Field. It’s a reflection of the outsized progression of a band always looking to the future. Like its namesake, O Monolith is vast and strange; alive with endless possible interpretations of its inner mysteries.

*NPN To enter the comp without purchasing the LP, email mail@piccadillyrecords.com with Squid Comp in the subject line.


Liam says: From the proggy crescendo of 'Swing (In A Dream)', to the paranoid closer 'If You Had Seen The Bull's Swimming Attempts You Would Have Stayed Away', Squid's second outing 'O Monolith' is a experimental post-rock goliath that never shies away from taking difficult path. Intense, vast and all-consuming, there's not many doing it like Squid right now (and I'm not just saying that because my cat shares her name with them...).


1. Swing (In A Dream)
2. Devil’s Den
3. Siphon Song
4. Undergrowth
5. The Blades
6. After The Flash
7. Green Light
8. If You Had Seen The Bull’s Swimming Attempts You Would Have Stayed Away

Back to top