Hiatus Kaiyote

Tawk Tomahawk - 2022 Reissue

Image of Hiatus Kaiyote - Tawk Tomahawk - 2022 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

The hugely influential Hiatus Kaiyote release a deluxe reissue of their 2012 independently released debut album, ‘Tawk Tomahawk’, on Brainfeeder Records. 

In 2014 they were nominated for Best R&B Performance for album track ‘Nakamarra’ at the GRAMMY Awards.

This reissue follows on from their most accomplished record yet, ‘Mood Valiant’ (2021), which was also nominated for Best Progressive R&B Album at the 2022 GRAMMYs and Best R&B Record at the 2022 A2IM Libera Awards.

The band is comprised of Naomi ‘Nai Palm’ Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums).

Their music has found fans in hip-hop, and was sampled on songs by The Carters (Beyonce and Jay-Z), Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak, Chance The Rapper, and Drake - with whom Nai Palm collaborated on his ‘Scorpion’ album.


Side A
A1. Mobius Streak
A2. The World It Softly Lulls
A3. Leap Frog
A4. Malika
A5. Ocelot
A6. Boom Child

Side B
B1. Lace Skull
B2. Rainbow Rhodes
B3. Sphynx Gate
B4. Nakamarra

Bonus 7”
A1. Nakamarra Feat. Q-Tip
B1. Boom Child (Clever Austin Remix)

Back to top