Optical Delusion

Image of Orbital - Optical DelusionImage of Orbital - Optical Delusion
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
London Records

About this item

Legendary electronic music duo Orbital return in Spring 2023 with new album Optical Delusion, the Hartnoll brothers first studio album since 2018’s Monster’s Exist. Recorded in Orbital’s Brighton studio, Optical Delusion includes contributions from Sleaford Mods, Penelope Isles, Anna B Savage, The Little Pest, Dina Ipavic, Coppe, and perhaps most surprisingly, The Medieval Baebes.

For the first single Orbital have joined forces with Sleaford Mods on their fabulous, furious new single “Dirty Rat” Featuring a searing vocal from Jason Williamson over kinetic, driving beats, “Dirty Rat” is Orbital at their most vital, still utterly relevant and pushing forward over 30 years since they broke through with their landmark single “Chime”. Think KLF or Underworld 'Born Slippy’ - ‘Dirty Rat’ is a primal scream which crosses genres and generations.


Martin says: Having been a driving force of Electronic music since the 90's, it's always exciting to hear a new LP from rave auteurs Orbital. 'Optical Delusion' sees the duo joined by a host of collaborators (inc. Jason Williams of Sleaford Mods) and ends up being a development of their established sound, but renewed with a fierce political vigour and hearty resolve.


Ringa Ringa (The Old Pandemic Folk Song) (feat. The Mediaeval Baebes)
Day One (feat. Dina Ipavic)
Are You Alive? (feat. Penelope Isles)
You Are The Frequency (feat. The Little Pest)
The New Abnormal
Home (feat. Anna B Savage)
Dirty Rat – With Sleaford Mods
Requiem For The Pre Apocalypse
What A Surprise (feat. The Little Pest)
Moon Princess (feat. Coppe)

Back to top