The Waeve

The Waeve

Image of The Waeve - The Waeve

About this item

The Waeve - composed of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall – release their eponymous debut album on Transgressive Records. Produced by The Waeve and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, Haim) and recorded in London earlier this year, ‘The Waeve’ is a collection of 10 new tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Joining creative forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the opportunity to push past their instrumental comfort zones. Many tracks feature Graham on saxophone, one of the first instruments he played as a young musician back in the 80s. First single ‘Can I Call You’ starts as a ballad then morphs into a krautrock-style motorik number with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. ‘All Along’ features Graham on cittern, a medieval folk lute. Rose plays piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth. The heavy weather all over ‘The Waeve’ recalls the blustery folk rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, while tracks such as ‘Kill Me Again‘ and ‘Over and Over’ recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, almost industrial in places.


Barry says: Featuring the both brilliant Rose Elinor Dougall and Graham Coxon, The Waeve was always going to be an interesting project. As it turns out, they manage to pull together influence from all over the psychedelic and rock spectrum, even folk in parts without it sounding fractured or jarring. A beautifully vibrant and enjoyably surprising listen.


1. Can I Call You
2. Kill Me Again
3. Over And Over
4. Sleepwalking
5. Drowning
6. Someone Up There
7. All Along
8. Undine
9. Alone And Free
10. You’re All I Want To Know

Back to top