A Certain Ratio


Image of A Certain Ratio - EP:ACR
Record Label

About this item

A Certain Ratio presents ‘EP:ACR’, the unity of their EP trilogy series on CD. This includes ‘ACR:EPA’, ‘ACR:EPC’ and ‘ACR:EPR’, and will be the first time that these 2021 titles are made available on CD.

The first part is ‘EPA’, dedicated to Denise Johnson. It features the band’s final recordings with Denise and came about when they used up some remaining time booked in the studio for a day jam with no fixed agenda, and the result is something very special.

Next up is ‘EPC’, a collaboration EP with Andy Meecham (Emperor Machine), Maria Uzor from Sink Ya Teeth, Jacknife Lee, and Chris Massey (who remixed their song ‘Dirty Boy’ back in 2019). The whole EP is dedicated to longtime ACR friend Andrew Weatherall, the inspiration for the song ‘Guv’nor’, which the band describe as “a collaboration in spirit.”

The final piece of the trilogy is ‘EPR’, which was recorded with the internal brief that ‘anything goes’. EPR includes Part 2 and Part 1 (in that order!) of the mesmerising ‘$ouls In The City’, followed by the insanely catchy ‘Night People’, ‘Big Boy Pants’ and the final track ‘Downtime Vibes’, a hypnotic piece of repetitive rhythms built up around a set of chimes that Jez found in the back of his car.


Wonderland (Jam 6)
Keep It Together (Jam 5)
Down And Dirty (Jam 2)
Feel No Fear (Jam 1)
Emperor Machine (ACR Vs
The Emperor Machine)
The Guv’nor
Musik Kontrol (ACR Vs
$ouls In The City Part 2 & 1
Night People
Big Boy Pants
Downtime Vibes

Back to top