Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto

Vrioon - 2022 Reissue

Image of Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto - Vrioon - 2022 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

Pioneers in their own musical approaches, Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto, began their exploration of sound in the evocatively titled V.I.R.U.S series in 2002. After more than a decade from the release of the collection's final installment with “Summvs” in 2011, NOTON reissues all the five albums between June and October 2022.

With its impressionistic atmosphere, in this collaborative project two generations met and shared the idea of electronic music as an inspiration source for new musical structures. Over a series of five albums, Vrioon (2002),Insen (2005), Revep (2006), utp_ (2008), and summvs (2011), the duo have explored blending electronic and acoustic sounds into a meditative whole that is at once expressive, breathing and precision-engineered.

Remastered in collaboration with Calyx Mastering, the recordings of Vrioon, Insen, Revep, Utp_, and Summvs are made available on vinyl and CD under the title ‘reMASTER, accompanied by exclusive, unreleased compositions and housed in a beautifully designed sleeve with original cover art by Carsten Nicolai. 


A1. Uoon I (00:13:50)
A2. Uoon II (00:09:40)
B1. Duoon (00:05:47)
B2. Noon (00:10:12)
C1. Trioon I (00:05:08)
C2. Trioon II (00:09:57)
D1. Landscape Skizze (00:08:12)

Back to top