Danny Kroha

Detroit Blues

Image of Danny Kroha - Detroit Blues

About this item

Danny Kroha’s "Detroit Blues" could be considered part two of his solo debut LP - “Angels Watching Over Me”. In his own words, “It was me in a room playing acoustic instruments and doing my own arrangements of some old songs”. Not so fast man! When you hear this record and dig a little deeper into the facts, you’ll have a heightened awareness of the sonic beauty found in the simplicity. On many of these traditional songs, Danny dropped, added or rearranged verses from various sources, mixing up music from one song and words from another and unintentionally created his own amalgamation of early blues and 60s folk. Instead of following all the rules rooted the early blues and 60s folk, Danny Kroha mixed up all the rural and urban traditions and kicked out a new surreal sound that could really only happen in Detroit. “I listen to both genres, for sure. I just wasn’t TRYING to make a record that sounds like that. It just came out that way”


1. Poor Howard
2. Leavin' Blues
3. Little Lulie
4. Detroit Blues
5. I'll Be Rested
6. Adam And Eve
7. Way Down In Florida On A Hog
8. Rich Girl, Poor Girl
9. Run Johnny
10. Oh Death
11. Reuben, Oh Reuben
12. House Of The Rising Sun
13. Up Above My Head
14. Come Out Of The Wilderness

Back to top