Image of Tindersticks - Distractions
Record Label
City Slang

About this item

Just before the end of the year 2020, a mere 12 months, after the release of their celebrated record “No Treasure But Hope”, Tindersticks surprised everyone with mentioning a new album to be released in 2021.

Stuart Staples was already nurturing seeds for a different kind of Tindersticks album before lockdown halted their tour in early 2020, singer. If 2019’s “No Treasure but Hope” saw the band rediscovering themselves as a unit, the follow-up reconfigures that unit so that everything familiar about Tindersticks sounds fresh again. “Distractions” is an album of subtle realignments and connections from a restless, intuitive band: rich in texture and atmosphere, it lives between its open spaces and details, always finding new ways to connect with a song.

If it’s an album that resists easy summation, at least one thing is clear: though it isn’t untouched by the lockdown, “Distractions” is not ‘a lockdown album’. As Staples says, “I think the confinement provided an opportunity for something that was already happening. It is definitely a part of the album, but not a reaction to it.”


Barry says: Distractions is swimming with that classic Tindersticks sound, propulsive but underlined with a sort of post-punk gothiness and metronomic bassy groove. Brilliantly immersive and perfectly produced, this is sure to prove a big hit.


A1. Man Alone (can’t Stop The Fadin’)
A2. I Imagine You
A3. A Man Needs A Maid
B1. Lady With The Braid
B2. You’ll Have To Scream Louder
B3. Tue-moi
B4. The Bough Bends

Back to top