Various Artists

Rainer Trueby Presents Soulgliding

Image of Various Artists - Rainer Trueby Presents Soulgliding
Record Label

About this item

Former member of A Forest Mighty Black and founder of Trüby Trio, Rainer Trüby presents his new compilation, Soulgliding, released on BBE Music. Starting life as a group on Facebook, ‘Soulgliding’ is a phrase coined by Rainer Trueby to describe the more languid, smoother side of 2-Step, Boogie, Modern Soul and even Jazz. This silky collection spans several decades and sums up what Soulgliding is all about: evocative airy music that feels like a dream-flight across a friendly sky. Or, as Patrick Forge puts it in his wonderful sleeve notes… “Soulgliding..... It’s all in that word, a stroke of genius, no explanation needed, I knew what it was about before I even read the rules. Anyway there was only one rule that really mattered, the speed limit, nothing beyond 110bpm. What I didn’t know when Rainer first convened the eponymous Facebook group was just how addictive it would be. Several months of sharing, liking, commenting, loving and frantic dives into Discogs later, and Soulgliding has become a thing. A genre? Well, almost. This selection lovingly compiled by Rainer himself goes a long way to solidify the notion and stake a claim on the territory. This set of gliders has all the elements; from the slow (enough!) boogie of Crystal Winds, to the jazzy excursions courtesy of Ambiance and Les Hooper, and a clutch of tunes that are closer to the original 2-Step blueprint from Demo Cates, Bridge, Cloud One and Donna McGhee. Then there are the eighties drum machine grooves of Patrice Rushen and Fifth Of Heaven and the ethereal beatless magic of Peter Brown’s “Without Love”. A selection that manages to amalgamate plenty of obscurities without losing the essence, a selection which shimmers, soothes, inspires……glides.” 


Vinyl Track Listing:
A1 Ray & James: Nature Boy
A2 Crystal Winds: Lovers Holiday
A3 Cast: Sweetness
B1 Mellaa: Makin´Love In The Fast Lane
B2 Patrice Rushen: To Each His Own
B3 Les Hooper: Lady Of The Night
C1 Fifth Of Heaven: Just A Little More
C2 Bridge: Next To Me
C3 Ambiance: Camouflage
D1 Demo Cates: Memories Of Memories
D2 Donna McGhee: It Ain´t No Big Thing
D3 Peter Brown: Without Love
D4 Cloud One: Dust To Dust

You may also like

Back to top