Juice B Crypts

Image of Battles - Juice B Crypts
Record Label

About this item

Battles return with their fourth album "Juice B Crypts" on Warp Records to follow their complex, mind-bending predecessors "Mirrored", "Gloss Drop, Dross Glop" and "La Di Da Di". Their latest album is a sensory overload of information that throws everything you thought you knew about Battles into flux once again. John Stanier's percussive power drives the LP through motorik, jazz and post rock, while the cubist keyboard and guitar melodies of Ian Williams capture the fractal pop majesty the group have made their own over the past decade or so.


Barry says: While Battles' previous outing definitely tread more through the math rock spectrum, and sometimes suffered cohesion losses through it's jagged momentum, 'Juice B Crypts'leans slightly more towards the free-jazz end of things, with loungey grooves and deep rolling basses keeping a solid backline behind their characteristic madness.


A1. Ambulance
A2. A Loop So Nice...
A3. They Played It Twice (featuring Xenia Rubinos)
B1. Sugar Foot (featuring Jon Anderson And Prairie WWWW)
B2. Fort Greene Park
C1. Titanium 2 Step (featuring Sal Principato)
C2. Hiro 3
C3. Izm (featuring Shabazz Palaces)
D1. Juice B Crypts
D2. The Last Supper On Shasta (featuring Tune-Yards)

Back to top