Come Away With - Repress

Image of ESG - Come Away With - Repress
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

Come Away With ESG - 35-year anniversary release of the classic genre-busting debut album by the Bronx sisters ESG. The sample-friendly opus that’s the inspiration for hip-hop, house and post punk. Music that falls outside of the no wave, new wave and post punk library, it’s for the dance floor but it’s not funk, there’s no horns, no driving organ; it’s the opposite of Sly And The Family Stone but no less cool and no less groovy. “A lasting document of their unique brand of minimal funk that would influence subsequent post-punk, hip-hop, and dance music acts. Stripped down to the most basic of drumbeats and rudimentary bass lines, ‘Come Away’ confirms the notion that the real rhythm is what happens between the beats.


1. Come Away
2. Dance
3. You Make No Sense
4. Parking Lot Blues
5. Chistelle
6. About You
7. It’s Alright
8. Moody ( Spaced Out )
9. Tiny Sticks
10. The Beat
11. My Love For You

Back to top