Joli Mai

Image of Daphni - Joli Mai
Record Label

About this item

Daphni (aka Caribou, aka Dan Snaith) follows up his special Fabriclive mix (made entirely of his own productions and edits) with a full length album released on his own Jiaolong imprint. What a prolific little bugger! Fully solidifying his vision and style across twelve tracks, it sees Snaith in comfortable but pioneering form; effortlessly delving into the highly compressed, chucky tribalism-meets-upfront-house music that's quickly becoming his signature. He might switch up the groove and mood, but usually within a few bars you recognize a Daphni production through its expertly mixed and constructed hooks. Not a frequency is out of place, allowing the tracks as much space and power as necessary, whether it be across digital radio bandwidth or rattling the Void rig down your nearest WHP. Daphni's tunes bite hard, yet the melodies and hooks are universally accessible. A tour de force from one of the decade's rising stars.


Barry says: It seems to be 'A thing' that Four Tet and Dan Snaith (Daphni / Caribou) release stuff very near each-other, and this is no exception. This time we get a fascinating and satisfying jaunt through funk, borderline ambient and downright tribal club tackle, peppered with the ever-present vocal snippets. Lovely.


1. Poly 02:18
2. Face To Face 05:43
3. Carry On 03:46
4. Vulture 04:35
5. Xing Tian 04:57
6. Vikram 05:40
7. Tin 04:33
8. The Truth 06:30
9. Hey Drum 06:51
10. Medellin 06:15
11. Joli Mai 04:49
12. Life's What You Make It. 03:52

Back to top