Benoit Pioulard

The Benoit Pioulard Listening Matter

Image of Benoit Pioulard - The Benoit Pioulard Listening Matter

About this item

The Benoît Pioulard Listening Matter is the sixth kranky album from Thomas Meluch under the nom de plume Benoît Pioulard. It arrives on the 10th anniversary of his first LP Précis, and offers a rekindled focus on self-examination, as well as a return to vocal-based pop structures following the mostly instrumental Sonnet (2015).

Recording for the Listening Matter began during a period of grief, turmoil and self-medication, and continued throughout two years of growth and healing. Reflections on vice (“Layette”, “Anchor as the muse”), virtue (“Narcologue”) and death (“A mantle for Charon”) feature equally in this concise treatise aimed at the flawed-but-resilient core in us all.

By coincidence this album was completed on the very day Meluch’s only brother died; accordingly, it’s dedicated to him and anyone seeking paths away from their demons.


1. Initials B.P.
2. Narcologue
3. Anchor As The Muse
4. A World Of What-There-Is
5. Layette
6. I Walked Into The Blackness And Built A Fire
7. Like There’s Nothing Under You
8. Perennial Comforts
9. Defect
10. A Mantle For Charon
11. In-The-Vapor
12. The Sun Is Going To Explode But Whatever It’s OK
13. Ruth

Back to top