Cavern Of Anti-Matter

Void Beats / Invocation Trex

Image of Cavern Of Anti-Matter - Void Beats / Invocation Trex
Record Label

About this item

Stereolab are veritable indie-rock legends, with a dedicated worldwide fanbase, and a band much beloved by their fellow musicians, with notable champions including Blur, Pharrell Williams (yes, really), Flying Lotus and Pavement. Most recently, and taking their fandom the extra mile, the prize has to go to !!!.

Cavern Of Anti-Matter are the new band from Stereolab mainman Tim Gane, now Berlin-based and collaborating with original Stereolab drummer Joe Dilworth, and synth wizard Holger Zapf.

We're very pleased to be helping out their label, Duophonic, with the release of void beats/invocation trex, Cavern Of Anti-Matter's first album proper after a number of limited vinyl releases. The album is an epic 72 minute journey featuring guest vocals from Bradford Cox (Deerhunter), Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3), and sound processing from Jan St. Werner (Mouse On Mars). 


Sara says: I'm on a self-imposed ban of all non-essential purchases as I'm saving for my holiday but I heard this slab of mesmeric, krautrocking brilliantness from Stereolab's Tim Gane and decided this is essential.

Andy says: Hypnotic grooves, burbling modular synths and a guest appearance from mister Deerhunter and Sonic Boom. Very big on the shop stereo!

Barry says: You’ve heard Stereolab right? Well, this is Tim Gane of said band distilling the driven, head-nodding hypnotic intensity of their greatest work into an instrumental synth powerhouse. Motorik beats and soaring arpeggios form together into a rocking but predominantly electronic cacophony of driving rhythm and ecstatic melody. The whole of ‘Void Beats / Invocation Trex’ is lucid as a whole, but entirely dissectible and enjoyable piece by piece. “Insect Fear” is a cosmic and psychedelic trip through hammond-laced rock and Kosmische sequencing, perfect for vocals but even better without, leaving the push and pull of parts to form a sort of call/answer scenario, as one fades out the other comes roaring in. “Pantechnicon” is as grand as it sounds, and could easily be a flying-car laden skyscrapered skyline, viewed from a sunny panorama. An unbelievable and irresistible vision quest.


01. Tardis Cymbals
02. Blowing My Nose Under Close Observation
03. Insect Fear
04. Melody In High Feedback Tones
05. Hi-hats Bring The Hiss
06. Liquid Gate
07. Pantechnicon
08. Black Glass Actions
09. Planetary Folklore
10. Echolalia
11. Void Beat
12. Zone Null

Back to top