Big Calm - 180g Vinyl Edition

Image of Morcheeba - Big Calm - 180g Vinyl Edition
Record Label

About this item

Realising that trip-hop was a dead end, at least as far as hipness goes, Morcheeba expanded their sonic palette on their second album, 'Big Calm'. Trip-hop and dance rhythms remain, but the trio has spent more time writing songs, crafting an album where pop, lounge, film soundtracks, reggae, jazz, and electronica all peacefully coexist. Consequently, 'Big Calm' is a stylistic tour de force, evidence that Morcheeba have turned into a mature, sophisticated group with impeccable taste. Occasionally, the album can sound a little distant, as if the fusions and productions were more important than the actual songs, but the trio is so musically adept, and Skye Edwards' voice is so enchanting, that 'Big Calm' become irresistible in its own way.


Side One
1. The Sea
2. Shoulder Holster
3. Part Of The Process
4. Blindfold
5. Let Me See
Side Two
1. Bullet Proof
2. Over And Over
3. Friction
4. Diggin’ A Watery Grave
5. Fear And Love
6. Big Calm

Back to top