Gulag Orkestar - Vinyl Reissue

Image of Beirut - Gulag Orkestar - Vinyl Reissue
Record Label
Pompeii Records

About this item

Orchestrated folk-pop for fans of Sufjan Stevens, Calexico, Arcade Fire, the Magnetic Fields, Klezmer, Neutral Milk Hotel, and the Boban Markovic Orchestra. There are no guitars on this album; instead, horns, violins, cellos, ukeleles, mandolins, glockenspiel, drums, tambourines, congas, organs, pianos, clarinets and accordions all build and break around Zach Condon's deep voiced crooner vocals, swaying to the Eastern European beats like a drunken 12 piece carnival band. Guests include Jeremy Barnes (Neutral Milk Hotel) and Heather Trost (A Hawk And A Hacksaw). "Gulag Orkestar" is a glorious sweep of music, striking in its emotional content and stunning in its scope.

This was their debut release, originally released in 2006.


1. "The Gulag Orkestar" 4:38
2. "Prenzlauerberg" 3:46
3. "Brandenburg" 3:38
4. "Postcards From Italy" 4:17
5. "Mount Wroclai (Idle Days)" 3:15
6. "Rhineland (Heartland)" 3:58
7. "Scenic World" 2:08
8. "Bratislava" 3:17
9. "The Bunker" 3:13
10. "The Canals Of Our City" 2:21
11. "After The Curtain" 2:54

Back to top