Dance Music

Image of Mastersystem - Dance Music
Record Label
2018 Physical Education Recordings

About this item

Mastersystem are a project comprised of two musical siblings, a collaborative effort featuring Scott Hutchison and Grant Hutchison (Frightened Rabbit), Justin Lockey (Editors), James Lockey (Minor Victories).

The story starts back when Frightened Rabbit recruited a couple of straight-up filmmakers and fine fellas from Yorkshire to follow them around on their tour of the Scottish Highlands. The filmmakers were Justin and James Lockey and this trip would be the beginning of a long creative relationship between the two sets of brothers.

Due to the respective schedules of band members’, the album finally came together at the end of 2017. Produced by Justin Lockey, Dance Music is a dark, honest, soaring album, exactly what one might expect if Frightened Rabbit, Editors and Minor Victories combined forces.

Scott Hutchison adds “I thought it would be interesting to play around with the themes of restlessness and dissatisfaction on this album, both as a counterpoint to the exuberance of the music and as an obvious reference to the angst and tension I heard in my teenage years. This is not the angst of a teenager, however. This is the anxiety of a man in his mid-30s, and for a lot of this record I found myself wrestling with the ways in which I am not quite doing life right, in spite of appearing to lead a relatively joyful, playful and artistic existence."


1. Proper Home - Mastersystem
2. Notes On A Life Not Quite Lived - Mastersystem
3. The Enlightenment - Mastersystem
4. Teething - Mastersystem
5. Peaks & Troughs & Graves - Mastersystem
6. Old Team - Mastersystem
7. Must Try Harder - Mastersystem
8. A Waste Of Daylight - Mastersystem
9. Bird Is Bored Of Flying - Mastersystem

Back to top