Jagwar Ma


Image of Jagwar Ma - Howlin

About this item

Jagwar Ma, the duo Jono Ma and Gabriel Winterfield, first bonded in Sydney, Australia over a mutual passion of melody and experimental beats, setting out to create a sound that would capture their love for contemporary electronica & classic American pop harmony, Joe Meek & King Tubby, vintage drum machines & radio frequency manipulation, Ray Davies’ vintage amp noise and improvised percussion. Hot on the heels of powerhouse singles ‘The Throw’ and ‘Man I Need’, Jagwar Ma are now pleased to announce their debut album Howlin

The album was recorded in a secluded town in the North of France, just the two of them in an almost farm with an 808, a Fender jaguar, a laptop & a pair of vintage Neve console channels, and neighbors with a thing for hardcore sound systems. Collaborators along the way included long-time friend & Warpaint drummer, Stella Mozgawa and renowned Berlin producer/mixer, Ewan Pearson, adding another station to the globe-spanning journey the songs have travelled.

Across its eleven tracks, Howlin twists addictive hooks around often dirty and clanking breakdowns. Pop songwriting is buried in layers of crunching synths and pedal effects, from 60’s beat to the strobe-lit warehouses of acid house via the techniques and sonic feel of dub and the touchstones of anthemic British guitar music, reveling in the vibrant tension between the discovery of something classic and future-looking experiments


Andy says: Big, baggy, psychedelic pop. This could be the sound of the summer!


1. What Love
2. Uncertainty
3. The Throw
4. That Loneliness
5. Come Save Me
6. Four
7. Let Her Go
8. Man I Need
9. Exercise
10. Did You Have To
11. Backwards Berlin

Back to top