Section 25


Image of Section 25 - Retrofit
Record Label
Factory Benelux

About this item

Formed in Blackpool (UK) by brothers Larry and Vin Cassidy in 1978, the band were initially mentored by Joy Division, and went on to record four albums with Factory Records. The first of these, "Always Now", offered Krautrock and psychedelia produced by Martin 'Zero' Hannett. Their third, "From The Hip", produced in 1984 by Bernard Sumner of New Order, explored techno and electronica, and spawned the oft-sampled club hit "Looking From A Hilltop". Now recognized as a leading genre band, three Section 25 tracks were included in the recent Warners box set "Factory Records: Communications 1978-1992", with "From The Hip" lauded as one of '1000 albums to hear before you die' by The Guardian newspaper.

After a decade apart, Section 25 released "Part-Primitiv" in 2007 and "Nature + Degree" in 2009, as well as playing a string of powerful live shows across Europe and America. "Retrofit" was recorded before the untimely death of Larry Cassidy in February 2010, and sees the group revisit 10 key tracks from their estimable back catalogue, remade and remodelled using new technology, and closing with a compelling remix of "Looking From A Hilltop" by New Order member Stephen Morris. "Retrofit" also includes an exclusive brand new track, "Uberhymn".


Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. The Process
A2. Looking From A Hilltop
A3. Beating Heart
A4. Reflection (Young Image)
B1. Dirty Disco
B2. Girls Don’t Count
B3. New Horizon
B4. Wretch

CD Tracklist:

1. The Process
2. Looking From A Hilltop
3. Beating Heart
4. Desert
5. Uberhymn
6. Garageland
7. Dirty Disco
8. Girls Don’t Count
9. New Horizon
10. Wretch
11. Another Hilltop (Stephen Morris Mix)

Back to top