Sonic Youth

Sonic Youth

Image of Sonic Youth - Sonic Youth
Record Label
Goofin Records

About this item

The band’s legendary eponymous 1982 debut. Features remastered album tracks, live material from one of the band’s earliest performances, and a rare studio outtake. Booklet has notes by Richard Edson, Glenn Branca and Byron Coley. Sonic Youth’s eponymous debut 12-inch was recorded in late 1981 at Radio City Music Hall in NYC and originally released on composer Glenn Branca’s Neutral label. The album is loosely based on compositions the newly formed group had performed at that year’s week-long Noisefest event (and remains the only recorded document of an early line-up featuring actor Richard Edson on drums).

Back in print on CD, the Goofin’ Records edition also features extra live material from a 1981 gig and an outtake from a early studio session. “We wanted it to sound like PIL who we were into. It didn’t but we were lucky it came out sounding like a record. We did it in two eight-hour sessions at a studio at Radio City Music Hall called Plaza Sound. The janitor let us in the back door.” - Kim Gordon.


1. Burning Spear
2. I Dreamed I Dream
3. She Is Not Alone
4. I Don’t Want To Push It
5. The Good And The Bad
Bonus Tracks:
6. Hard Work (I Don’t Want To Push It)
7. Where The Red Fern Grows (I Dreamed I Dream)
8. Burning Spear
9. Cosmopolitan Girl
10. Loud And Soft
11. Destroyer
12. She Is Not Alone
13. Where The Red Fern Grows

Back to top