Image of Beak> - >>>>

About this item

This is the fourth Beak> studio album, imaginatively titled ‘>>>>’. At its core we always wanted it to be head music, listened to as an album, not as individual songs. This is why we are releasing this album with no upfront singles or promo tracks.

The recording & writing initially began in a house called Pen Y Bryn in Talsarnau, Wales in the fall out from the weirdness of the covid days. Remote and with only ourselves and the view of Portmeirion in the distance we got to work.

With the opening track, ‘Strawberry Line’ as the metronomic guide for the album, we then resumed recording, as before, at Invada studios in Bristol, whilst still touring around Europe & North/South America.

After playing hundreds of gigs & festivals over the years we felt that touring had started to influence our writing to the point we weren’t sure who we were anymore. So we decided to go back to the origins of where we were at on our first album. With zero expectations and just playing together in a room.

Hopefully we have achieved this.


Barry says: Beak have definitely ascended on their latest, '>>>>'. Though their DNA has always had something in common with classic rock and psychedelia, the newest outing is so deeply psychedelic and grand that it almost defies explanation. Think the wilder side of haunting neo-folk and Kosmische music combined with post-rock and a dash of hypnotic dancefloor percussion and you're somewhere near. Brilliant madness.


1. Strawberry Line
2. The Seal
3. Windmill Hill
4. Denim
5. Hungry Are We
6. Ah Yeh
7. Blood Miles
8. Secrets*
9 - Cellophane

(*’Secrets’ Not On Vinyl But Inc. In LP Download)

Back to top