Nina Simone

At Newport 1960 - 2024 Reissue

Image of Nina Simone - At Newport 1960 - 2024 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

When this album was recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival in 1960, Nina Simone had just had her first Top 20 hit with "I Loves You, Porgy", but the "Porgy" found here is actually a continuation of Gershwin's original version of the story.

Other highlights include "Flo Me La", an African work chant, and "Little Liza Jane", an African American folk song. A truly great live performance from one of the most original voices in 20th century music.


1. Trouble In Mind
2. Porgy
3. Little Liza Jane
4. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
5. House Of The Rising Sun
6. Flo Me La
7. Nina's Blues
8. In The Evening By The Moonlight
9. Brown Baby

Back to top