Oscar Peterson Trio & Milt Jackson

Very Tall

Image of Oscar Peterson Trio & Milt Jackson - Very Tall
Record Label

About this item

Very Tall marked the first recorded collaboration between Oscar Peterson and Milt Jackson, a masterful stroke by producer Norman Granz in bringing the two together. Both highly regarded and successful jazz figures by 1961, Peterson had recorded innumerable albums with his own trio and backing such stars as Louis Armstrong, Lester Young, Ben Webster, and Billie Holiday, to name just a few, and Jackson had played with most of the great names in modern jazz and had been a founder of the Modern Jazz Quartet with John Lewis.

Very Tall features Milt Jackson as an added member of the legendary Peterson Trio with Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen, and Jackson brings to the session two of his own compositions - Heartstrings, and Reunion Blues. The repeated Heartstrings bonus track is from an earlier session of Jackson's own.


1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. Heartstrings
3. Work Song
4. John Brown's Body, "Battle Hymn Of The Republic" (Traditional)
5. A Wonderful Guy
6. Reunion Blues 
7. Heartstrings

You may also like

Back to top