Jasmine Myra


Image of Jasmine Myra - Rising

About this item

Elevating, uplifting and beautifully arranged. Jasmine Myra's sophomore album 'Rising' builds on the success of her breakthrough album 'Horizons' to deliver a major statement from one of UK Jazz's rising stars. Produced by Matthew Halsall and mixed by Greg Freeman (Hania Rani, Matthew Halsall, Portico Quartet), 'Rising' delivers a confident and vibrant follow up that joins the musical dots between Myra’s influences Kenny Wheeler, Bonobo and Shabaka Hutchings while delivering something unique, beautiful and profound.

'Rising' is also the sound of a composer and performer growing in stature and adding extra layers of confidence and poise to both her playing and composing. Aided and abetted by Matthew Halsall who once again lends his production skills, Rising is fuller, richer and deeper as Myra develops her uniquely uplifting sound.

Much like my first album, 'Rising' is a reflection of a period of my life. It is a continuation from 'Horizons', which was all about my experience during lockdown, and entailed overcoming my struggles with mental health. Following on from that experience, I set out to continue building my self-confidence. This album has an uplifting and spiritual sound, drawing influence from artists such as Makaya McCraven, Bonobo and Shabaka Hutchings.

'Rising' features the same core of musicians as Myra’s debut album 'Horizons' (Gondwana records GOND052): guitarist Ben Haskins, drummer George Hall pianist Jasper Green, harpist Alice Roberts (who both also perform with Matthew Halsall) and bassist Sam Quintana who collectively bring a deft understating of the subtle textures of Myra’s music and perform with a collective empathy and drive that really pushes the music on a radiant journey. And a string quartet add gently elevating textures to 'Still Waters', 'Knowingness', 'From Embers' and 'How Tall The Mountains'.


1. Rising
2. Still Waters
3. Knowingness
4. Glimmers
5. From Embers
6. How Tall The Mountains

Back to top