Whispering Sons

The Great Calm

Image of Whispering Sons - The Great Calm

About this item

Following the dark, expansive power of 2018’s ‘Image’ and 2021’s minimal ‘Several Others’, Whispering Sons’ third album, ‘The Great Calm’, represents a reimagining and rethinking, though this growth has produced a series of songs that are still defiantly and uniquely true to the group.

With bass player and producer Bert Vliegen’s credentials to call on, rather than give the band musical sketches to be fleshed out later as he did previously, guitarist Kobe Lijnen was able to provide more fully formed pictures of his potential new songs.

Recorded in four weeks - two in the Audioworkx studio near Eindhoven, Holland, before being finished at the start of 2023 using a homemade set up on Vlieland, a small Dutch island just off the North Sea coast - the power, energy and beauty behind ‘The Great Calm’’s making is etched through the heart of each of its 12 songs.


Walking, Flying
Cold City
Something Good
Still, Disappearing
The Talker
Balm (After Violence)
Poor Girl
Loose Ends
Try Me Again

Back to top