Hakushi Hasegawa

Somoku Hodo

Image of Hakushi Hasegawa - Somoku Hodo
Record Label

About this item

Hakushi Hasegawa (They/Them pronouns) is a musician, producer and singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan, and the first Japanese artist signed to the Brainfeeder label. Consistent with Brainfeeder’s ethos of seeking out artists operating outside the confines of genre since the label was founded in 2008 by Flying Lotus, Hakushi’s music is tricky to categorize as it straddles a few genres: alternative, electronic, jazz, pop/J-pop. Sometimes it’s pretty, at times it’s very intense and fast-paced. Releasing since 2018, they’ve already made a name for themselves domestically in Japan with a string of wonderfully wild releases and started to build a cult following internationally. Collabs to date have included Kid Fresino, yuigot, TOKYO SKA PARADISE ORCHESTRA, Yukichikasaku/men and Eye from Boredoms.

“Somoku Hodo” was Hakushi’s debut release in 2018 as a teenager, featuring fan favourites ‘Somoku’ and ‘Doku’ – a hyperspeed junglist jazz workout.


A1. Somoku
A2. Doku
A3. Ta Hui Xiaoxi
A4. Qie Boming

B1. Cue
B2. Hamidasu Yubi
B3. Doku (SCREWED) [Vinyl-only Bonus Track]

You may also like

Back to top