Susana Baca

Espiritu Vivo - 20th Anniversary Edition

Image of Susana Baca - Espiritu Vivo - 20th Anniversary Edition
Record Label
Luaka Bop

About this item

The tracks on this album may arouse a number of emotions; they were not sung purely for the pleasure of making music, but to convey, with drama and joy, that life is stronger than ever and continues with a live Spirit... Recorded in New York after 9/11 in front of a small audience, Espíritu Vivo marries Susana Baca’s wonderful vocals and Peruvian backing band with the downtown sounds of John Medeski and guitarist Marc Ribot—for a recording that transcends time and place, with Baca giving every iota of herself to the music. This is the 20th anniversary edition, on vinyl for the very first time.


1. La Noche Y El Día
2. Si Me Quitaran...
3. Caracunde
4. El Fusil Del Poeta
5. Se Me Van Los Pies
6. 13 De Mayo
7. Toro Mata
8. Afro-blue/zum Zum
9. The Anchor Song

You may also like

Back to top