Smoke Fairies

Carried In Sound

Image of Smoke Fairies - Carried In Sound

About this item

Following on from the release of their highly praised 2020 LP ‘Darkness Brings Wonders Home’, which was applauded by the likes of Mojo, Clash Magazine, Q and many more, alt - folk duo Smoke Fairies return once again to announce the details behind their sixth studio album ‘Carried In Sound’, previewed by the wondrous new single “Vanishing Line”.

Continuing to pursue more of that warm and ethereal aesthetic the pair have cultivated since their earliest beginnings, “Vanishing Line” makes for a wonderfully warm and emotive introduction to their next full length release. Accompanied by a cinematic video, the new offering tackles the difficult and intimate feelings loss and grief can have on a person and those around them.

A sense of inner strength dominates the new record. In keeping with the times that bore it, ‘Carried In Sound’ isn’t afraid to discuss darkness but everywhere there is a longing for light. “Although the album has themes of sadness on there, it’s looking at those things from a place of strength, ” says Jessica.

"We're really excited to announce a new record, carefully home crafted to represent our core sound, with notes of reflection, grief and joy, we hope you find it an emotive, rewarding experience to listen to."

To celebrate the release of ‘ Carried In Sound’, Smoke Fairies will also embark on an intimate five date tour across the UK taking in spectacular churches and ruins.


Barry says: Smoke Fairies are back! While their latest clearly wades in the same waters as the rest of their superb canon, it seems like they're drawing from a wider influence pool. With their trademark alt-folk veering in parts into deep psychedelia and airy melacholic country. Lovely stuff.


1. Vague Ideas
2. Vanishing Line
3. Carried In Sound
4. There Was A Hope
5. Seek It With Me
6. Sticks And Stones
7. Part Of It All
8. 2022
9. Perseus
10. Come To My Mind
11. Seek It With Me (instrumental) 

Back to top