Kirk Degiorgio

Modal Forces / Percussive Forces

Image of Kirk Degiorgio - Modal Forces / Percussive Forces
Record Label

About this item

Like a long-lost Holy Grail album from the mid-seventies, Kirk Degiorgio’s latest project explores both Modal Jazz and Seventies Jazz Fusion in the Library album format. Side One swings with a vengeance with its tight arrangements built around acoustic bass, electric piano and glorious analogue synth leads and side 2 takes us on a journey of funk fuelled, percussive workouts and heavy breaks. The contribution of renowned session drummer Chris Whitten adds to the authenticity of the album as does the use of vintage, analog synths. The Library album was predominant in TV and film studios in Italy and France with composers creating background, incidental and scene music for use in TV and movie production.

In recreating the sound library format Kirk Degiorgio has revelled in both the creative freedom and the test of melodic capability that the short form of the Library album allows. As Kirk says, 'the skill with this kind of composing is to be able to express your ideas and thoughts in a maximum of two minutes at a time.'

Kirk Degiorgio is a DJ, composer and music lover whose influences, from family and then going out to clubs from under-18 discos to attending the Belvedere Arms and 'Shoom' and working in Reckless Records, cover all genres of Black music. From Soul, Jazz-Funk, Funk and then House and Detroit Techno Kirk has a love and an appreciation for how all these sounds work together and evolve from each other.


1. Kiriath-Arba
2. Cincinnati Sunrise
3. Shinar
4. Chicago Shift
5. The Oakland Feel
6. Beersheba
7. Pittsburgh Patrol
8. Khmunu
9. Watts Awakening
10. Beth-El
11. Mittani
12. Dayton Daydreams
13. Harlem Homerun
14. Amurru
15. Shechem
16. Baltimore Beatdown

Back to top