Shirley Collins

Archangel Hill

Image of Shirley Collins - Archangel HillImage of Shirley Collins - Archangel HillImage of Shirley Collins - Archangel HillImage of Shirley Collins - Archangel Hill
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

One of the most important voices in British folk music Shirley Collins returns with Archangel Hill, her third album for Domino. Due for release on May 26th, it showcases another peerless collection of songs chosen by Collins, some from traditional sources but others from favourite writers of hers.

Produced by Ian Kearey - Shirley Collins’ musical director - the arrangements were shared between Collins, Kearey, Pip Barnes, as well as Dave Arthur and Pete Cooper, players from The Lodestar Band.

All of the songs on Archangel Hill were recorded last year except for “Hand And Heart”, which was taken from a live performance at the Sydney Opera House in 1980 and features an arrangement by Shirley’s beloved and talented sister Dolly Collins.


Barry says: There are few artists more legendary in folk circles than the great Shirley Collins, and 'Archangel Hill' perfectly illustrates why. Warm, evocative folk songs, bathed in Collins' weathered vocals. Thoroughly lovely, bathed in the warm haze of summer.


1. Fare Thee Well My Dearest Dear
2. Lost In A Wood
3. The Captain With The Whiskers
4. June Apple
5. The Golden Glove
6. High And Away
7. Oakham Poachers
8. Hares On The Mountain
9. Hand And Heart
10. The Bonny Labouring Boy
11. Swaggering Boney
12. How Far Is It To Bethlehem?
13. Archangel Hill

Back to top