The Ruts

The Crack - 2023 Reissue

Image of The Ruts - The Crack - 2023 Reissue
Record Label
Proper Records

About this item

The Ruts were formed in west London in 1977, but guitarist Paul Fox and
vocalist Malcolm Owen were schoolfriends who had already been in several bands – meeting with drummer Dave Ruffy and bassist John 'Segs' Jenning - The group played many Rock Against Racism beneft concerts and rose to prominence supporting The Damned in early 1979 - A contract with Virgin followed, and by June of that year, the group were in the UK Top 10 with Babylon's Burning. The Crack followed in September, beneftting a crystal-clear production from Mick Glossop. Reaching No 16 in the UK, it sounds as vibrant and pugnacious as it did on its frst release. Representing the very apex of politically conscious British punk, The Crack stands as a perfect snapshot of the inner-city temperature of the late 70s.

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1979 Virgin Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.


A1. Babylon's Burning
A2. Dope For Guns
A4. Something That I Said
A5. You're Just A
A6. It Was Cold
B1. Savage Circle
B2. Jah War
B3. Criminal Mind
B4. Back Biter
B5. Out Of Order
B6. Human Punk

Back to top