Hold Steady

The Price Of Progress

Image of Hold Steady - The Price Of ProgressImage of Hold Steady - The Price Of Progress
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

Formed in 2003, The Hold Steady have released eight albums, numerous singles and played over 1000 shows. The Price of Progress is the ninth studio album from the band, released on the band’s Positive Jams label via Thirty Tigers. The Price of Progress arrives as The Hold Steady mark the 20th anniversary of their foundation bringing new ideas, sounds, and textures to a still-evolving canon of nine studio album releases that began with 2004’s Almost Killed Me. The album was produced by longtime collaborator Josh Kaufman at The Clubhouse in Rhinebeck, NY, and mixed by D. James Goodwin.

The Price of Progress stands as their most sonically expansive record thus far, while also remaining unmistakably The Hold Steady, showcasing narrative rock ‘n’ roll tales of ordinary people struggling and surviving in a modern world. The front and back of the album cover feature photographs by renowned Minneapolis based photographer Alec Soth. “These are some of the most cinematic songs in The Hold Steady catalog,” says Finn, “and the record was a joy to make. I feel like we went somewhere we haven’t before, which is a very exciting thing for a band that is two decades into our career.” The Brooklyn-based band has performed in all 50 states in the USA and throughout Canada, Europe and Australia


1. Grand Junction
2. Sideways Skull
3. Carlos Is Crying
4. Understudies
5. Sixers
6. The Birdwatchers
7. City At Eleven
8. Perdido
9. Distortions Of Faith
10. Flyover Halftime

Back to top