Image of Pole - Tempus

About this item

Following the highly acclaimed record Fading in 2021, Pole continues his release series for Mute in 2022 with a new album, Tempus. Pole is Düsseldorf-native musician, producer and mastering engineer Stefan Betke, and is known for his unique musical language oscillating between melody and avant-garde in electronic music, with audible influences from Dub and Jazz music. While the subject of Fading focussed on coping with dementia and the loss of memory over time, Tempus focuses on the connection between the past, the present and the future. Translating to tense in English, Tempus investigates whether music that was created in the past, can still be audible and influential for the present, and how much can this music shine into the future. 


Barry says: I'm always up for another Pole release, and Betke's latest mines deeply into the furrow of dub that he's artfully crafted out, but this time with a rich melodic overtone lightening the impossibly organic sub-bass throb he's so well known for. A perfect meeting of celestial lightness and indescribable heft. Classic Pole.


A1 Cenote
A2 Grauer Sand
B1 Alp
B2 Stechmück
C1 Firmament
C2 Tempus
D1 Allermannsharnisch

Back to top